Informal testing finds Apple Maps arrival times are 'intentionally conservative' to provid...

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 26
    maestro64 said:
    Second and I disagree with the assessment that Waze arrival time is off, I have been using it for 5 yrs and it is dead on ever time. The only time I have seen it off is when traffic becomes  unpredictable. Waze claims they do not do this, but I think Waze learns your driving habits or style and tend to route you base on how you drive. In my case, my driving style is path of least red lights, even if is means going a little farther than the direct path. I rather keep driving than sit at red lights. Waze tend to route me this way unless I am in the new place altogether. Also avoiding red light means you are saving on gas. Because of this I tend to drive back road more often so less traffic and able to maintain a good speed. If Waze is not learning my driving habits it is definitely figure out my paths are fast since I am not spending 1 to 3 minutes sitting at red light or stuck in more traffic.

I know google maps and Apple maps does not do this, I have used them and they always want to route you the most direct way even though backroads could be much faster or easier to drive.

That's quite a claim that you can't substantiate nor is your mind going to be objective enough to have this sort of recall. You are obviously emotionally attached to the program, since you are assigning it behaviors that even the developers say are not there. That's why people collect data instead of relying on their own feelings - so the biases that come with feelings are taken out of the equation.