Apple's redesigned iPad Air sports 10.9-inch display, A14 Bionic chip

Comments

• Reply 41 of 75
    JFC_PA said:
    I’d guess my only pause is the Touch ID implementation. Those edge ID system  identifiers haven’t got a very good history. It leaves the Pro in the mix for me (along with the higher storage options as I’m a photographer who’d like the backup and my full frame dSLR, currently a d850, generates huge image files I shoot thousands of on road trips). 

Well the tech details will be interesting. They are close, Apple usually doesn’t make that mistake, an
    iPad Pro update on the horizon?
    If this IPA has the same connectivity capabilities as the iPad Pro, then storage is a matter of a sufficiently large external hard drive.  It's an additional expense, but it seems like the per gigabyte cost is less when you're talking about truly large capacities.  I don't know if your cameral allows for direct transfer to an external drive; if not then backup isn't as simple as backup to just the iPad, but still doable.

I thought I read somewhere in my D5500's documentation that if I connect my phone via the camera's network, it could mirror the photos I take.  I can't imagine that would be a very fast transfer rate, but it might be an alternative.

I've been debating on getting a Pro for simple field editing of photos I take while away from my PC.  I'm wondering if this will fit the bill.  But I'm also going to get an Apple Watch 6, so it might be best to wait to see if the Pros get an update in a couple of months.
    watto_cobra
  • Reply 42 of 75
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member

cloudguy said:
    tmay said:
    cloudguy said:
    A14 is only hexacore. Strange. Was certain that it was going to be octa-core. Hexacore is good enough to replace the i3 and i5 in the Mac Mini and MacBook Air, but for MacBook Pro and iMac they are going to need an octacore design at minimum.