Epic Games behind anti-Apple App Store legislation in North Dakota

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 33
    Rayz2016Rayz2016 Posts: 6,957member
    sflocal said:
    Rayz2016 said:
    aderutter said:
    The best things Apple could do are get rid of in-app purchases and mobile ads entirely.
    Let’s go back to adequate pricing of apps in their entirety - i.e. significant up-front pricing.
    I know it won’t happen but I can dream.
    Well … why not?

In-app purchases are a bad idea anyway. 
    I use my iPhone for day to day things to make my life easier.  I stopped playing games on it so many years ago.  It's a time-waster for me.

However, with COVID, I had a few months of literally nothing to do so I decided to try out some games that grabbed my attention.  The cesspool of in-app purchases and how almost all of the games I tried were literally developed from beginning to end in such a way to try to get as much money from the player was just offensive to me, and I'm a developer too!  These "games" were almost unplayable.  This is a bad business-model for Apple and I think Apple would be doing the community better by getting rid on in-app purchases.  Today's Internet where everything is "free" is just not sustainable.  People expect "free" apps yet balk at all the ads, in-app purchases, etc.. use it.  It's almost like people forget that there are actual people that work to develop these apps and they too need to get paid and make money.  I get that, but the way in-app purchases are is just seedy.  I will gladly pay $5 (or more) for a quality app than the constant panhandling going on right now.  

After about a week of trying these apps, I stopped using them.  It was just too much.
    Have to agree. Apple should’ve never allowed it in the first place. 
  • Reply 22 of 33