Porting operating systems to Apple Silicon leagues harder than migrating software

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 30
    bala1234bala1234 Posts: 145member
    I don't think there is much here which wasn't known before for anyone who's been following this..  One can only hope that at some point in future Apple will share the documentation needed to natively boot linux. I read in this forum about Apple supporting PPC linux back in the PPC days. So its not completely unfounded.
    Regarding using the current M1 Macs for work, like many in these forums I am a server side developer and being able to test the applications on docker containers running locally is essential. I am still not clear if ARM or Intel based VMs will be available on M1 Macs or if it will even make that big a difference.  Having a personal server to test applications which will be deployed on intel server is a workaround but not a convenient one.  I am waiting to see how things will turn out. But given that there is large crowd of dedicated developer community I am sure Apple will come up with some workable solution.
    watto_cobra
  • Reply 22 of 30
    ralphieralphie Posts: 104member
    If enough people let Apple know that they won't buy Apple Silicon computers if they can't boot another operating system, I am sure Apple will make that an option.
    LOL. No they won’t.
  • Reply 23 of 30
    crowleycrowley Posts: 10,453member
    ralphie said:
    If enough people let Apple know that they won't buy Apple Silicon computers if they can't boot another operating system, I am sure Apple will make that an option.
    LOL. No they won’t.
    Of course they would, if "enough" people told Apple that they should.  However, I don't think anywhere near "enough" people care for Apple to think it's worth paying attention to ahead of other priorities.
  • Reply 24 of 30
    netrox said: