Apple Watch Series 6 oxygen sensor just as good as hospital equipment

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 24

LuvMacs said:

Just as good as hospital equipment???!!!

The above is a screenshot of my blood oxygen levels over the past week. I do not have lung or heart disease & am physically fit. Capillary (blood) oxygen levels range from 95 to 100% in healthy adults. As you can see from the screenshot most are the readings recorded by my AppleWatch indicate that I am hypoxic (low oxygen level in the blood). 

I am a physician & have contacted Apple regarding these inaccurate readings. The response from their engineers was that it was because of my skin pigmentation. I am Asian & while not pale skinned, am not dark either.
    My Watch 5 (I am guessing that's what yours is too) has this problem as well. But on balance, it's decent. When I run up against this problem, I remeasure a couple of times, and it ends up close to the readings from a pulse oximeter that I have (which I use for my oxygen level readings anyway).

The more annoying thing is, it takes three or four tries to actually get a reading in the first place from Watch 5.

This article appears to be implying that Watch 6 seems to have addressed these issues.
  • Reply 22 of 24
    LuvMacs said:

The above is a screenshot of my blood oxygen levels over the past week. I do not have lung or heart disease & am physically fit. Capillary (blood) oxygen levels range from 95 to 100% in healthy adults. As you can see from the screenshot most are the readings recorded by my AppleWatch indicate that I am hypoxic (low oxygen level in the blood). 

I am a physician & have contacted Apple regarding these inaccurate readings. The response from their engineers was that it was because of my skin pigmentation. I am Asian & while not pale skinned, am not dark either.
    Thanks for sharing 👍
    I myself is not yet a physician (med. school for another year), but currently working on a clinical study in a related field.