Developers get day in court over 'tyrannical greed' of Apple's App Store

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 40
    Upfront: I’m not a developer and I am not reading all details on this matter. 
    Having said that, though, isn’t it that every developer is crystal clear about the conditions when they decide to code for Apple’s operating systems? 
    And that in addition, Apple ameliorated conditions over time? I’m not talking about App Store restrictions, but money. 

It all appears to me The greedy ones are exactly them. Or, to phrase it in the words from the movie “snatch”: “they see some p***y, they want a piece of the action”. 
    killroy
  • Reply 22 of 40
    sflocalsflocal Posts: 6,096member
    I don't like their chances. Their arguments are weak. Their demands are ridiculous.
    If you want to go after Apple's monopoly, you have to use the customer's right to chose what apps they can use on their iPhones. That is where Apple is the weakest.
    For example, why can't I mine cryptocurrency on my iPhone if I want to?
    Why can't I use BitTorrent if I want to?
    Why can't I display a list of the WiFi networks around me?
    Why can't I run a Windows or game emulator?
    Why can't I choose any kind of Apple Watch face?
    *rolls eyes*
    williamlondonkurai_kageStrangeDays
  • Reply 23 of 40
    GeorgeBMacGeorgeBMac Posts: 11,421member
    My own experience with it was:  I had a favorite exercise app that ran well on my iPhone.  But, when they ported it to the Apple Watch they didn't actually do that.  Instead they attempted to build an interface between the watch and the phone -- and like so many interfaces it was unstable and unreliable.

Apple resisted approving their update but eventually relented.
    The result was:  "it looks like the Apple Watch doesn't work very well to track exercise"