Europe demands Apple open up iOS for better accessory compatibility

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 47
    In a way, Apple may eventually end up thanking Ms. Vestiger.  By forcing Apple to open up iMessage to Android, this allows Macs to penetrate workplaces even more effectively.  Any workplace can now message any of their clients from their Macs without having to worry if the client has an iPhone or Android phone.  Ms. Vestiger may have just helped Apple increase their Mac sales. 
  • Reply 42 of 47
    gatorguygatorguy Posts: 24,573member
    aderutter said:
    I guess Apple need to stop selling in the EU.
    I've been arguing that for 5-10 years. Glad to see others picking up on it in this thread.

There's actually another way for Apple to move forward here. Apple could pay Google to support Android on all iPhones sold in Europe. Europe would lose its access to iOS, but Apple would be in full compliance, because Google will always comply....
    WIN-WIN-WIN.
    You're mistaken about Google acquiescing. They are making the same essential arguments against components of the DMCA as Apple is. Both are also currently being investigated for non-compliance. Lose-Lose. 
    muthuk_vanalingamdanox
  • Reply 43 of 47
    dewmedewme Posts: 5,658member
    MplsP said:
    I am confused – just what is the EU asking? iPhones are already compatible with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth and you can easily pair any Bluetooth device with your iPhone. They are also Qi compatible, So wireless charging isn’t an issue either. I’m trying to think of a device that I can’t pair with my iPhone and I can’t. I suppose maybe an android watch?