New 24-inch iMac adds M4 chip, nano-texture glass option

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 26
    rob53rob53 Posts: 3,296member
    Watched the video and I wasn't impressed. The biggest issue I have is Apple pushing AI to fix bad writing skills. If I was an English teacher, I'd find a new job because every paper will end up looking the same because AI will correct every typo, every contextual error (like in my second sentence) and every error in content. Why even teach English (or any other language) when AI will effectively write everything you ever need to do no matter what grade level or technical level in a job. 

I, along with others, am tired of the iMac taking second (or third, or fourth) fiddle to laptops. Why isn't the iMac getting a Pro or Max version? The iMac ends up costing nearly the same as a MacBook Pro with at least the Pro chip. Why should any of have to spend 2 to 3x the amount of the base iMac on a iMac Pro when all that needs to be changed is the SoC? I also want a 27" 5K display. The display on my 2019 fully blown Intel iMac is just fine so why can't Apple slide in an M4 Pro or Max into the chin of my 27" display. 

I'll wait to see what the new M4 Mac Mini contains and how much it costs. It might be time for me to just get a reasonably priced 4-5K display, attach (if it doesn't have one) a decent quality front camera and go with that. I checked trade-in value for my fully blown 2019 3.6GHz iMac, 72GB RAM, 2TB SSD and Radeon Pro Vega 48 8 GB. All they want to give me is less than a $400 trade-in. 
    macsince1988
  • Reply 22 of 26
    where is the space grey 27" iMac?
    williamlondonForumPost
  • Reply 23 of 26
    XedXed Posts: 2,849member
    docno42 said:
    "Storage starts at 256GB"
    Pathetic base storage, as usual.
    Apple really needs to be more competitive at this base level.
    Why would a point of sale terminal need more than 256GB?   

iMacs are used for all kinds of purposes, not just what you think they should be used for.