Is an expensive education worth it???

Comments

• Reply 21 of 45
    torifiletorifile Posts: 4,024member
    Quote:

Originally posted by applenut

Unfortunately the states with public schools that rival private offerings are few.... California, Virginia, Michigan..... Pennsylvania maybe. What else... Washington?

North Carolina. Having been out of undergrad for a few years, the answer really is: it depends. If you're not going to continue on and get some sort of a graduate degree, than it MAY matter for a job early in your career. If you're getting a graduate degree, no one gives a rat's ass where you got your undergrad degree from. Seriously. It's an afterthought. So, think seriously about your plan post-graduation.

As far as the "college experience" goes, I'd have to say that the name means nothing. I'm a UNC grad. I loved UNC. I learned a lot in my classes, but the academic climate was AMAZING. Lots of activism on all sorts of issues, political discussion, outspoken stances on controversial issues, etc. Dook, where I was last year for my year internship, has a very different academic climate. Yes, it's academic, but there's no activism or even a sense that anyone cares. The Chronicle (Dook's paper) was a nice rehashing of mainstream republican ideas. Not that being conservative is necessarily a bad thing, but it was the UTTER LACK OF any sort of new thinking that was depressing.

Many private schools also have an isolationist attitude towards their surrounding communities (someone mentioned Princeton - Dook's the same way). Durham is a cesspool. Dook is completely cut off from the community. If Dook students want to go out, they go to Chapel Hill and hang out at UNC's places.

If you want to be a snob and feel entitled, then spending big bucks on a private school is for you. If you want to learn something about life, look a little more closely at where you go.
  • Reply 22 of 45
    applenutapplenut Posts: 5,768member
    Quote:

Originally posted by torifile