End of Powerbook Speculation?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
OK,

Since everyone's been playing the "it'll be tomorrow...ok, then the next day, or the day after that" game regarding PB updates, let me throw in my 2 cents...

Apple would prefer to announce upgrades to both the PB and the iMac in Paris on the 16th, and has been carefully trying to monitor/control inventory_in the hopes of being able to hold off an announcement until then...

If, and only if there is a sudden "rush" on the existing PB line this week, will you hear anything before the 16th.

Granted, I'm a novice speculator (and a recent switcher), but I work in/understand marketing.

What will we hear from Steve: "PowerMac sales (the world's fastest PC) have exceeded expectations, and are now available in our retail stores! iPod sales have continued to amaze, and we are therefore announcing a way for people to take their iPod experience even further with our new home stereo remote/dock solution; PANTHER will be released on October ??...What can we do to top ourselves? Today we're announcing the new PowerBook lineup:...

17" PB G5 1.2 Ghz

15" PB G5 1.2 Ghz

12" PB G5 1.0 Ghz

available in November (really Dec-Jan)

and the new iBook:

14" iBook G4 1.0 Ghz

12" iBook G4 867 Mhz

available immediately.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 26
    Quote:

Originally posted by Sport73

What will we hear from Steve: "PowerMac sales (the world's fastest PC) have exceeded expectations, and are now available in our retail stores! iPod sales have continued to amaze, and we are therefore announcing a way for people to take their iPod experience even further with our new home stereo remote/dock solution; PANTHER will be released on October ??...What can we do to top ourselves? Today we're announcing the new PowerBook lineup:...

17" PB G5 1.2 Ghz

15" PB G5 1.2 Ghz

12" PB G5 1.0 Ghz

available in November (really Dec-Jan)

and the new iBook:

14" iBook G4 1.0 Ghz

12" iBook G4 867 Mhz