Help me make a decision: buy New or used?

Comments

• Reply 21 of 50
    emaneman Posts: 7,204member
    [quote]Originally posted by Hewligan:

<strong>Well, I am in the same dilema. My Pismo died about 2 months ago and I decided to not get her fixed (£350 UK minimum fee to get her fixed, perhaps up to £500 depending on what was wrong). I sold her for parts, raising about £160, and now I have the same problem as you:

1. Buy an iBook 600/128/15/DVD for £1200 after discounts (I am a student too)

2. Buy a second hand powerbook (3400 or 1400) for £200-£300

3. Buy a PC laptop for about £800 (I know, I know!)

4. Do nothing.

Now, money is very tight, but having a laptop would help me do my research (I am a MSc. student writing my thesis), so it is almost impossible to survive without a laptop. I need to get something. My girlfriend keeps pushing me to get the iBook because she knows it would make me happy, but it is all about the money.

I haven't made up my mind yet.

Hewligan</strong><hr></blockquote>

I think if you get the iBook it'll be worth the money.
  • Reply 22 of 50
    matsumatsu Posts: 6,558member
    Sell both machines. Get an iBook.
  • Reply 23 of 50
    fran441fran441 Posts: 3,715member
    You can get an iBook (G3/300 Blueberry, new, Open Box) here for not so much:

<a href="http://www.electricdeal.com/cart.php?search=Apple"; target="_blank">http://www.electricdeal.com/cart.php?search=Apple</a>;

Edit: Added details of which iBook it was.

[ 12-10-2001: Message edited by: Fran441 ]</p>
  • Reply 24 of 50
    matveimatvei Posts: 193member
    Thanks fran, I'd only consider the Tangerine or Keylime iBooks... hehe.

How well does AppleWorks 6 run on a 80MB PB2400c? Is it fast and responsive? How about Office 2001(euuw!)?

As for selling both, I'd probably need to get the 540c repaired before that. Selling for parts is not so attractive. It works ok, when plugged in and with an external keyboard...
  • Reply 25 of 50
    Matvei huh?