Core Audio in Mac OS X Tiger to improve audio handling

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 27
    Quote:

Originally posted by Kickaha

I think the vagaries of network latency would eat it alive.

And yet, MIDI is designed specifically to allow multiple instruments to be digitally connected and play in sync, isn't it?

I know it's not applied to playing songs [top 40 hits]... but surely the technology and timecodes to get things synchronised would work for either?

Though, I am no MIDI expert!!!!

[edit: definition of 'songs']
  • Reply 22 of 27
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    MIDI has tight synchronization across all devices by means of a clock signal.

Networking is deliberately *A*synchronous. You can't make it work in lockstep.
  • Reply 23 of 27
    I hereby nominate this thread title for the Captain Obvious Award.

• Reply 24 of 27
    Yeah I guess the title is obvious: "Core Audio in Mac OS X Tiger to improve audio handling". If it didn't improve audio why would they do it!? hehe

Anyway, back to MIDI -

I've done some reading around on various sites for the relationship of MIDI to Ethernet. MIDI currently IS used over ethernet, it uses time servers (including standard internet NTP), and the greatest network latencies of your connected devices are found and used to set a standard delay, hopefully quite short.

It is hopefully short with MIDI because they want to work with instruments in REAL TIME. Of course, a delay when playing music on 2 separate computers doesn't matter even if it's a few seconds as long as they are playing in time with each other - it just means that when you skip to the next song, it will take that long to start playing.