About to buy a G5 imac. But which one? Need advice.

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm a web designer/flash animator who is about to purchase a G5 imac. But which one? I'm flip floppin more than John Kerry.

imac 17" 160HD/AE/BT keyboard & mouse $1,649.00

imac 20" 160HD/AE/BT keyboard & mouse $ 1,959.00

there is a $310 difference between getting the 17" or the 20" imac.

They both have identical specs. The ONLY physical difference is the screen size. So I have to ask myself, is that extra space worth the extra money? As someone getting into web design & Flash animation...will I regret it later if I go with the 17"? Or will 17" be more than enough?

If I go with the 17" I can use the $300 I save and get 1 gig of ram from Crucial.com.

But I can always upgrade ram. I can never upgrade screen size.

So this is my dilemma. Which size to get.

Oh...also...to all you web designers/flash animators out there. What in your opinion is the minimum amount of ram to do what you do effectively?

Thanks for all the feedback.

Regan

Comments

• Reply 1 of 27
    auroraaurora Posts: 1,142member
    wait for the next revision 20" you are paying a lot for fx5200 and maybe it will be gone in a few months.
  • Reply 2 of 27
    I agree. Wait for the revision. If nothing else, wait until it comes standard with iLife 05 and save yourself some cash.
  • Reply 3 of 27
    reganregan Posts: 474member
    doesnt it come with ilife 05 right now?
  • Reply 4 of 27
    cubitcubit Posts: 846member
    The vets will always tell you to wait for the next revision. I rarely do, often pay more for less in the long stream of time, BUT I have my macs on my desk, or on my lap, or in my study and get all kinds of things done while they are waiting for Apple to make the next one better.