Why Apple still sells original iMac?

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 25
    paulpaul Posts: 5,278member
    where can i get a slot-loading superdrive for one?
  • Reply 22 of 25
    Hopefully once the iMac CRT disappears (if it ever does...) then the eMac will take over the $799 price point. Apple needs to have at least one computer down there in price, and the eMac fits the bill fine. Something like eMacs at $799 and $999 with the iMac at $1199, $1399 and $1699. That would be cool.

I'm a newbie here, but I've been keeping a real close eye on Apple's prices and specs for about a year. In addition to the iMac CRT being discontinued--(600 MHz is a dinosaur)--I would also like to see the eMac 700 MHz discontinued and just have the two 800 MHz models, one

configured with Combo Drive for $699, and the other one maxed out with RAM, HD size, iApps, and SuperDrive for $999. These price points would make it easier for people to buy a Mac with G4.

Not everyone likes the style of the iMac LCD, if that were the case, more of them would have been sold.
  • Reply 23 of 25
    How about putting a red and white target shell on the G3 iMac and selling them at Target for $499? I bet they wouldn't have any trouble selling them...

[ 02-07-2003: Message edited by: Nedrick ]</p>
  • Reply 24 of 25
    chinneychinney Posts: 1,019member
    I am running a IMac G3 500 and love running OSX on it. I don't know why some on this thread are suggesting that it is only (and only barely) sufficient for OS9. Not true!

My only real problem is when I run MS Office for OS X. But my problem with Office is not, I believe, related to the processor, but with the MS Software. I understand that even people running much faster machines have the same problems with MS Office.

[ 02-07-2003: Message edited by: Chinney ]</p>
  • Reply 25 of 25
    bartobarto Posts: 2,246member
    Why Apple still sells original iMac?

Two words. Education, business.

Trust me, those are the only sales of new iMac G3s.