Apple spreadsheet application in the works?

Comments

• Reply 41 of 87
    tkntkn Posts: 224member
    I wonder if Apple is considering using Gnumeric or something similar as a base?
  • Reply 42 of 87
    Quote:

Originally posted by humanfellow

I actually bought iWorks when it came out. I don't use it. I even regret buying it. I'm a student and no matter how I like it my school expects assignments in Microsoft Word format. I usually e-mail them in.

Thank God for Microsoft Office 2004 on the Mac. It is a great program. The Mac Business Unit has done a wonderful job.

As a student, I'm betting IWork can do everything you need word to do. This is assuming your writing basic reports. If I'm wrong, please let me know what it can't do. BTW, you can export using RTF. Anyone can open that up in their word program.

I think most are complaining much too much over a version 1.0. Yes, I'm also having issues, but I've used it because it provides far better graphics than Word. My big problem is that I need to use a reference program like EndNote or my current new favorite Sente. However, these programs don't work from within Pages. My last grant was written with Sente in MSWord X. Then when the text and, more importantly the references, were finished I exported to Pages to add the figures and finnish the layout. It worked well, but I dislike that if I ever use the text again and need to add references, I have to go back to the figureless version in Word. Nonentheless, since a reviewer recently complained about the fuzzy quality of my figures printied out from Word, I am very happy Apple came out with Pages. Now if they could only provide a means for other developers to add plugins so that we can get it to play nice with Sente or Endnote.

I really think Pages has the potential to be everyhting anyone needs working in the life sciences. Basic papers and grants with figures can be easily written using Pages.