Please help with wireless internet.....

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
this is really gettin on my nerves





my computer is a DP Quicksilver G4 runnin 10.2.8 and i have a buffalo wli2-pci-g54 802.11g PCI wireless card. the card works on mac, its identical to apple's airport card and is recognized immediately by airport. i am tryin to connect to a dell PC with a linksys 802.11g router. everythin is enabled correctly, airport is turned on in the menu and net configurations in system preferences. when i join the linksys network, it joins and and there is a signal in the signal level meter. however, i open up a browser and cant surf the web. what gives? the card and router both work. everything is enabled and connected properly.



i thought that macs were supposed to be easy plug and play and it works. i am gettin tired of payin for cable internet and not bein able to use it on my mac.



i will even ship you a reward if you can get my wireless to work on here.
«1

Comments

  • Reply 1 of 33
    mikefmikef Posts: 697member
    Are you able to access the router's admin page? (That would be a test to ensure you're properly connected to your wireless network)
  • Reply 2 of 33
    tigerwoods99tigerwoods99 Posts: 2,633member
    how do i do that??
  • Reply 3 of 33
    mikefmikef Posts: 697member
    On my linksys, it's http://192.168.0.100. I don't remember what the default is, but the info sheet that comes with the router will tell you otherwise you can get it from Linksys' website.
  • Reply 4 of 33
    gene cleangene clean Posts: 3,481member
    The default is http://192.168.1.1/
  • Reply 5 of 33
    doesnt work..
  • Reply 6 of 33
    what does the TCP/IP info in your Network system pref say?
  • Reply 7 of 33
    tigerwoods99tigerwoods99 Posts: 2,633member
    Location: Automatic



    Show: Airport



    Configure: Using DHCP



    IP Address: 192.168.1.101 DNS Servers (Optional)

    (Provided by DHCP Server)



    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0



    Router: 192.168.1.1 Search Domains (Optional)



    DHCP Client ID: __________

    (Optional)



    Airport ID: 00:07:40:ba:f7:56
  • Reply 8 of 33
    Does your router have a wired network jack? If so, try using a cable instead of the wireless card.
  • Reply 9 of 33
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    Quote:

    Originally posted by TigerWoods99

    Location: Automatic



    Show: Airport



    Configure: Using DHCP



    IP Address: 192.168.1.101 DNS Servers (Optional)

    (Provided by DHCP Server)



    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0



    Router: 192.168.1.1 Search Domains (Optional)



    DHCP Client ID: __________

    (Optional)



    Airport ID: 00:07:40:ba:f7:56




    Open Network Utility in the Utilities folder and see if you can ping the router.
  • Reply 10 of 33
    tigerwoods99tigerwoods99 Posts: 2,633member
    im convinced its the internet service



    theres no way it shouldnt work



    wireless doesnt work, and i even put it through ethernet and it doesnt connect to the internet



    we called the ISP and all they say is "oh your router doesnt work" already took one router back before and replaced it, still it doesnt work.



    the ping seems to work...



    im just gonna have to bitch at them and tell them they need to fix it because its not my fault i bet the technician didnt install it properly to work with more than 1 computer...
  • Reply 11 of 33
    wingnutwingnut Posts: 197member
    Well, high-speed internet installs don't have a setting for multiple PCs. They are either On or Off. Since your Dell can connect, then I highly doubt it's the ISP's fault.



    First things first, can you connect to router and bring up its software interface? It might be that you need to configure your router. If nothing else, you should be able to view the router's connection log and see if it's trying to block traffic to and from your Mac.
  • Reply 12 of 33
    mikefmikef Posts: 697member
    Quote:

    Originally posted by TigerWoods99

    im convinced its the internet service



    Impossible. You said you couldn't access the router admin page. Even if the router wasn't connected to a cable/DSL modem, this HAS to work.



    Quote:



    im just gonna have to bitch at them and tell them they need to fix it because its not my fault i bet the technician didnt install it properly to work with more than 1 computer...




    Sorry, but there's nothing the technician has to do to enable multiple computers behind a router.
  • Reply 13 of 33
    tigerwoods99tigerwoods99 Posts: 2,633member
    well everythin is set right so there is no reason it shouldnt work. its not like im a complete dumbass when it comes to computers. the internet should work automatically on mac. theres nothin wrong wit my computer either, it works perfectly fine.



    the technicians still have to set it up and could have screwed it up. the service hasnt been great on the dell either, cuts out a lot and slower than advertised. the guy who installed it didnt seem to know a whole lot, and you dont exactly have to be very computer literate to do those jobs.
  • Reply 14 of 33
    mikefmikef Posts: 697member
    Quote:

    Originally posted by TigerWoods99

    well everythin is set right so there is no reason it shouldnt work. its not like im a complete dumbass when it comes to computers. the internet should work automatically on mac. theres nothin wrong wit my computer either, it works perfectly fine.



    If you don't have WEP configured properly on the client, it won't work if it's a Mac ornot.



    Quote:

    the technicians still have to set it up and could have screwed it up.



    No, you don't understand what I'm saying. If your wireless was working, you would be able to access to admin page regardless of whether you have an Internet connection or not.



    Stop trying to blame everybody else. The problem is with your misconfiguration. if the Dell works, the Mac HAS to work if it's configured properly.
  • Reply 15 of 33
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    So pinging the router works, but you get nothing if you type the router address in a browser? Maybe someone changed the router's IP address.
  • Reply 16 of 33
    wingnutwingnut Posts: 197member
    You should be able to access the router from the Dell machine. From there you can configure it. As far as the ISP technicians fixing it--it's not their problem.
  • Reply 17 of 33
    tigerwoods99tigerwoods99 Posts: 2,633member
    Quote:

    No, you don't understand what I'm saying. If your wireless was working, you would be able to access to admin page regardless of whether you have an Internet connection or not.



    Stop trying to blame everybody else. The problem is with your misconfiguration. if the Dell works, the Mac HAS to work if it's configured properly.







    thats the whole POINT! it DOESNT WORK! do you not understand that my internet does not work at all when the settings are correct? i really dont appreciate anyone givin me an attitude in this post when i'm simply askin for help and givin you exactly whats goin on. im not a 3 yr old so dont talk down to me.



    theres no misconfiguration here buddy. apple has told me its right. linksys has told me its right. computer people have told me its right. the ISP has told me it is right. their only help is that "the router must be faulty", which obviously isnt the problem when i have replaced it already and the exact same thing happens. once again, please do not tell me that I have somethin misconfigured, go look up top and what is in my net configurations is exactly what its supposed to be. wireless wouldnt work, nor does doing it wired. there is no problem with my computer. the G4 can see the router and get all of its info.......no internet.



    i've used built-in ethernet before. all i had to do was plug the cat5 into the back of my G4 and voila i was on the internet.





    there is no password on the router either, it is configured exactly how linksys has told me.
  • Reply 18 of 33
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    OK- does the Mac surf if you plug the cable modem directly into it?
  • Reply 19 of 33
    hmm, not entirely sure, but can you connect to web directly thru your modem? and it gives you proper ip and so on, then it's not ISP's fault. Can you connect to the router with the cable and open admin page, if you want to connect multiple machines thru it you should enable nat/dhcp so that ip addresses are managed localy, also the way how router handles wan connections is critical so you should check those settings also. Begin troubleshooting with the minimal amount of things that can go wrong, ie. computer, modem and cable. and when that works add router next thing is to get routers wan side working still using cable connections, last thing is to make wireles connections working. Not trying to talk down on you just trying to make it as simple as possible.
  • Reply 20 of 33
    really dont understand why this wont work at all......



    Ping has started ...



    PING 192.168.1.103 (192.168.1.103): 56 data bytes

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.206 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.58 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.218 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.227 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.185 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.633 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.287 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=0.243 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=0.473 ms

    64 bytes from 192.168.1.103: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=0.23 ms



    --- 192.168.1.103 ping statistics ---

    10 packets transmitted, 10 packets received, 0% packet loss

    round-trip min/avg/max = 0.185/0.428/1.58 ms





    Routing tables



    Internet:

    Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Netif Expire

    default nas24.cleveland1.l UGSc 655 142 ppp0

    nas24.cleveland1.l aca31bd0.ipt.aol.c UH 656 0 ppp0

    localhost localhost UH 9 8300 lo0

    169.254 link#4 UCS 0 0 en0

    192.168.1 link#4 UCS 0 0 en0

    192.168.1.103 localhost UHS 0 22 lo0

    192.168.1.104 localhost UHS 0 2 lo0



    Internet6:

    Destination Gateway Flags Netif Expire

    UH lo0

    fe80::%lo0 Uc lo0

    link#1 UHL lo0

    fe80::%en0 link#4 UC en0

    0:3:93:8c:14:fc UHL lo0

    fe80::%en1 link#5 UC en1

    0:7:40:ba:f7:56 UHL lo0

    ff01:: U lo0

    ff02::%lo0 UC lo0

    ff02::%en0 link#4 UC en0

    ff02::%en1 link#5 UC en1



    tcp:

    \t52413 packets sent

    \t\t11753 data packets (23866287 bytes)

    \t\t527 data packets (2359676 bytes) retransmitted

    \t\t0 resends initiated by MTU discovery

    \t\t29214 ack-only packets (7983 delayed)

    \t\t0 URG only packets

    \t\t192 window probe packets

    \t\t830 window update packets

    \t\t9901 control packets

    \t29852 packets received

    \t\t12953 acks (for 25750168 bytes)

    \t\t2128 duplicate acks

    \t\t0 acks for unsent data

    \t\t16334 packets (30321742 bytes) received in-sequence

    \t\t713 completely duplicate packets (214913 bytes)

    \t\t2 old duplicate packets

    \t\t5 packets with some dup. data (1885 bytes duped)

    \t\t719 out-of-order packets (530835 bytes)

    \t\t233 packets (4392 bytes) of data after window

    \t\t192 window probes

    \t\t304 window update packets

    \t\t74 packets received after close

    \t\t0 discarded for bad checksums

    \t\t0 discarded for bad header offset fields

    \t\t0 discarded because packet too short

    \t5752 connection requests

    \t69 connection accepts

    \t0 bad connection attempts

    \t0 listen queue overflows

    \t1538 connections established (including accepts)

    \t5961 connections closed (including 328 drops)

    \t\t137 connections updated cached RTT on close

    \t\t137 connections updated cached RTT variance on close

    \t\t26 connections updated cached ssthresh on close

    \t1451 embryonic connections dropped

    \t12572 segments updated rtt (of 19731 attempts)

    \t17528 retransmit timeouts

    \t\t11 connections dropped by rexmit timeout

    \t382 persist timeouts

    \t\t0 connections dropped by persist timeout

    \t0 keepalive timeouts

    \t\t0 keepalive probes sent

    \t\t0 connections dropped by keepalive

    \t214 correct ACK header predictions

    \t10088 correct data packet header predictions

    udp:

    \t1696 datagrams received

    \t0 with incomplete header

    \t0 with bad data length field

    \t0 with bad checksum

    \t57 dropped due to no socket

    \t171 broadcast/multicast datagrams dropped due to no socket

    \t0 dropped due to full socket buffers

    \t0 not for hashed pcb

    \t1468 delivered

    \t1203 datagrams output

    ip:

    \t32377 total packets received

    \t0 bad header checksums

    \t0 with size smaller than minimum

    \t0 with data size < data length

    \t0 with ip length > max ip packet size

    \t0 with header length < data size

    \t0 with data length < header length

    \t0 with bad options

    \t0 with incorrect version number

    \t0 fragments received

    \t0 fragments dropped (dup or out of space)

    \t0 fragments dropped after timeout

    \t0 packets reassembled ok

    \t31589 packets for this host

    \t650 packets for unknown/unsupported protocol

    \t0 packets forwarded (0 packets fast forwarded)

    \t0 packets not forwardable

    \t138 packets received for unknown multicast group

    \t0 redirects sent

    \t54476 packets sent from this host

    \t0 packets sent with fabricated ip header

    \t0 output packets dropped due to no bufs, etc.

    \t0 output packets discarded due to no route

    \t0 output datagrams fragmented

    \t0 fragments created

    \t0 datagrams that can't be fragmented

    \t0 tunneling packets that can't find gif

    \t0 datagrams with bad address in header

    icmp:

    \t57 calls to icmp_error

    \t0 errors not generated 'cuz old message was icmp

    \tOutput histogram:

    \t\techo reply: 20

    \t\tdestination unreachable: 57

    \t0 messages with bad code fields

    \t0 messages < minimum length

    \t0 bad checksums

    \t0 messages with bad length

    \t0 multicast echo requests ignored

    \t0 multicast timestamp requests ignored

    \tInput histogram:

    \t\techo reply: 20

    \t\tdestination unreachable: 337

    \t\techo: 20

    \t\ttime exceeded: 265

    \t20 message responses generated

    \tICMP address mask responses are disabled

    igmp:

    \t49 messages received

    \t0 messages received with too few bytes

    \t0 messages received with bad checksum

    \t0 membership queries received

    \t0 membership queries received with invalid field(s)

    \t49 membership reports received

    \t0 membership reports received with invalid field(s)

    \t49 membership reports received for groups to which we belong

    \t73 membership reports sent

    ipsec:

    \t0 inbound packets processed successfully

    \t0 inbound packets violated process security policy

    \t0 inbound packets with no SA available

    \t0 invalid inbound packets

    \t0 inbound packets failed due to insufficient memory

    \t0 inbound packets failed getting SPI

    \t0 inbound packets failed on AH replay check

    \t0 inbound packets failed on ESP replay check

    \t0 inbound packets considered authentic

    \t0 inbound packets failed on authentication

    \t0 outbound packets processed successfully

    \t0 outbound packets violated process security policy

    \t0 outbound packets with no SA available

    \t0 invalid outbound packets

    \t0 outbound packets failed due to insufficient memory

    \t0 outbound packets with no route

    ip6:

    \t1 total packet received

    \t0 with size smaller than minimum

    \t0 with data size < data length

    \t0 with bad options

    \t0 with incorrect version number

    \t0 fragments received

    \t0 fragments dropped (dup or out of space)

    \t0 fragments dropped after timeout

    \t0 fragments that exceeded limit

    \t0 packets reassembled ok

    \t0 packets for this host

    \t0 packets forwarded

    \t1 packet not forwardable

    \t0 redirects sent

    \t10 packets sent from this host

    \t0 packets sent with fabricated ip header

    \t0 output packets dropped due to no bufs, etc.

    \t0 output packets discarded due to no route

    \t0 output datagrams fragmented

    \t0 fragments created

    \t0 datagrams that can't be fragmented

    \t0 packets that violated scope rules

    \t1 multicast packet which we don't join

    \tInput histogram:

    \t\thop by hop: 1

    \tMbuf statistics:

    \t\t0 one mbuf

    \t\t1 one ext mbuf

    \t\t0 two or more ext mbuf

    \t0 packets whose headers are not continuous

    \t0 tunneling packets that can't find gif

    \t0 packets discarded due to too may headers

    \t0 failures of source address selection

    \t0 forward cache hit

    \t0 forward cache miss

    icmp6:

    \t0 calls to icmp_error

    \t0 errors not generated because old message was icmp error or so

    \t0 errors not generated because rate limitation

    \tOutput histogram:

    \t\tmulticast listener report: 8

    \t\tneighbor solicitation: 2

    \t0 messages with bad code fields

    \t0 messages < minimum length

    \t0 bad checksums

    \t0 messages with bad length

    \tHistogram of error messages to be generated:

    \t\t0 no route

    \t\t0 administratively prohibited

    \t\t0 beyond scope

    \t\t0 address unreachable

    \t\t0 port unreachable

    \t\t0 packet too big

    \t\t0 time exceed transit

    \t\t0 time exceed reassembly

    \t\t0 erroneous header field

    \t\t0 unrecognized next header

    \t\t0 unrecognized option

    \t\t0 redirect

    \t\t0 unknown

    \t0 message responses generated

    \t0 messages with too many ND options

    \t0 messages with bad ND options

    \t0 bad neighbor solicitation messages

    \t0 bad neighbor advertisement messages

    \t0 bad router solicitation messages

    \t0 bad router advertisement messages

    \t0 bad redirect messages

    \t0 path MTU changes

    ipsec6:

    \t0 inbound packets processed successfully

    \t0 inbound packets violated process security policy

    \t0 inbound packets with no SA available

    \t0 invalid inbound packets

    \t0 inbound packets failed due to insufficient memory

    \t0 inbound packets failed getting SPI

    \t0 inbound packets failed on AH replay check

    \t0 inbound packets failed on ESP replay check

    \t0 inbound packets considered authentic

    \t0 inbound packets failed on authentication

    \t0 outbound packets processed successfully

    \t0 outbound packets violated process security policy

    \t0 outbound packets with no SA available

    \t0 invalid outbound packets

    \t0 outbound packets failed due to insufficient memory

    \t0 outbound packets with no route

    pfkey:

    \t0 requests sent to userland

    \t0 bytes sent to userland

    \t0 messages with invalid length field

    \t0 messages with invalid version field

    \t0 messages with invalid message type field

    \t0 messages too short

    \t0 messages with memory allocation failure

    \t0 messages with duplicate extension

    \t0 messages with invalid extension type

    \t0 messages with invalid sa type

    \t0 messages with invalid address extension

    \t0 requests sent from userland

    \t0 bytes sent from userland

    \t0 messages toward single socket

    \t0 messages toward all sockets

    \t0 messages toward registered sockets

    \t0 messages with memory allocation failure



    IPv4 multicast forwarding:

    0 multicast forwarding cache lookups

    0 multicast forwarding cache misses

    0 upcalls to mrouted

    0 upcall queue overflows

    0 upcalls dropped due to full socket buffer

    0 cache cleanups

    0 datagrams with no route for origin

    0 datagrams arrived with bad tunneling

    0 datagrams could not be tunneled

    0 datagrams arrived on wrong interface

    0 datagrams selectively dropped

    0 datagrams dropped due to queue overflow

    0 datagrams dropped for being too large

    IPv6 multicast forwarding:

    0 multicast forwarding cache lookups

    0 multicast forwarding cache misses

    0 upcalls to mrouted

    0 upcall llueue overflows

    0 upcalls dropped due to full socket buffer

    0 cache cleanups

    0 datagrams with no route for origin

    0 datagrams arrived with bad tunneling

    0 datagrams could not be tunneled

    0 datagrams arrived on wrong interface

    0 datagrams selectively dropped

    0 datagrams dropped due to llueue overflow

    0 datagrams dropped for being too large





    my computer is workin fine so i dont really know what could be wrong with it. i cant connect wired through built-in ethernet either.
Sign In or Register to comment.