How to start when switching from PC to Mac?

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 27
    tidelwavtidelwav Posts: 118member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ghostboa

Thanks Tidelwav, thats the kind of info I am looking for. Are you on the 12 or 14? I imagine you are using the 14 if you use photoshop that much.

It's the 14". I'm an photographer and the 12" is too small to really do much with the photos.
  • Reply 22 of 27
    Hey Soopa.

I got the 12" Powerbook. I initially went to the local Compusa to look at the apple notebooks. After a few minutes of messing around with the different models, I really liked this one. So I went home and ordered one. I dont know what it is, but for a little computer this thing is really impressive. I have installed Macromedia Studio and Photoshop CS but I have not had much time to push them to see what it can do. I have been too busy with Widgets lol. I followed Kicks advice and went with 1.5gb memory so I am sure it will handle it well. I know the larger screen would be nicer for the apps I use, but I just had to have this little 12" model

One thing that really suprised me was the overall quality and attention to detail of these things. Just really nice.

Ghost
  • Reply 23 of 27
    a_greera_greer Posts: 4,594member
    Quote:

Thanks, I know, Photoshop can drag CPU/Mem down. Most of my confusion here comes from the CPU and memory between the two different computers. The CPU speeds with PC and Mac dont seem to mean the same thing I guess. And the memory, I know what it takes for a PC to run something like Photoshop, but with a Mac I have no idea. Would it be about the same? Thanks again for your response.

There is a sort of equation that may help, nothing official, but it can help gauge the ram needs.

Code:

SW Ram needs

OS X 256

MiSC apps 256 (browser, email, itunes, widgets, spotlight...)

Photoshop ~50 (APP ONLY)

File(s) @ 1 time ???? (you doing 500k web graphics or 1GB posters?, how many filters...)