Note-Taking

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 40
    midwintermidwinter Posts: 10,060member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Xool

Do people actually think that if they rattle down what a Prof/TA says verbatim they're actively learning?

Last year, I was teaching a course on Jane Austen. On the first couple of classes, I lectured about the history of the English novel leading up to Austen. I noticed as I was talking that students were furiously writing notes.

I said "Stop. Just listen. I'm telling you a story."

And I'll be damned if they didn't retain that information better than if they'd taken notes.
  • Reply 22 of 40
    xoolxool Posts: 2,460member
    Writing notes is one thing, by attempting to scrawl the instructors teachings verbatim is useless. I'd go on to say that the fewer notes the better, but a pithy summary or diagram is definitely a good thing.
  • Reply 23 of 40
    splinemodelsplinemodel Posts: 7,311member
    When I was an engineering student I chose not to take the more demanding, high-level humanities classes, and during these I rarely took notes. It seemed kind of pointless, since lectures in beginning and intermediate classes were often self-explanatory as long as I did a good job studying the material. I always had the feeling that almost no-one in those classes cared at all, and that they just feverishly recorded whatever was said in the class in order to be covered for the exam. Now, these busibodies all did great on the exams, and I usually didn't do as well, but it seems like I have retained more of it. Whether that's related to my less aggressive note-taking, more-aggressive independent study, or something else entirely is up for debate.

For engineering classes I took some notes, mostly to the tune of: "What the hell are all those fucking, Greek letters? Tonight, learn what these mean. . ."