Financial advice for graduates

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
Quote:

Originally posted by Aquatic

Nick, great thread, let's even expand the scope more. I don't know where to begin, with managing money. And I graduated two weeks ago and soon I'll land a full-time job, hopefully. Currently since I only have like 1000 bucks to my name, I have a Citizen's bank account that doesn't even have interest. Like I said I kind of don't know what I'm doing. Any insight would be great...I'll also be researching in the coming weeks in to money management...I want to set up my money in Quicken or something like that too once I land a job. Also any thoughts on that? Any better software?

I PM'ed Aquatic on this and he said, if necessary he would be comfortable providing the type of information (annual income, amount of savings, debt, etc.) Necessary to get very specific advice. However before that, I thought I would toss it out there for everyone in a very generalized way.

There are plenty of folks on here who have moved on beyond high school or college graduation. What sort of financial advice would you give to a new graduate?

Nick

Comments

• Reply 1 of 37
    yoseyose Posts: 62member
    This would be a great thread. I've just graduated and am making my way right now through contract work as a designer. Money is tight and I've not had much success in the past managing it.
  • Reply 2 of 37
    skatmanskatman Posts: 609member
    Don't live beyond your means and don't borrow money to invest in something that depreciates (such as a car).
  • Reply 3 of 37
    yoseyose Posts: 62member
    Quote:

Originally posted by skatman

Don't live beyond your means and don't borrow money to invest in something that depreciates (such as a car).

Gee, thanks Dad.

However, you're absolutely right.

But beyond that, what about people who've invested share what they've learned.