Apple responds abuse claims at iPod factories

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 26
    aegisdesignaegisdesign Posts: 2,914member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Chris Cuilla

All of them or just the one's you happen to be wearing? Be honest now.

Shoes - 4x Korea (all Shimano bike shoes), 2 Germany, 2 Italy, 1 China (asics running shoes) and 1 old pair of USA made Vans. I do quite badly at local shoes with none English.

Shirts - too many to count. I only wear t-shirts though. It's not that difficult to avoid the Gildans and the Fruits of the Looms of the world although I'm sure there's some in there that I've been given. I used to work as a bike journalist so for some years the only clothes I had were those I blagged, reviewed or were given by bike company PR.

Pants (in the English sense) - Yes, all Scottish as I only have one brand. Trousers on the other hand are Italian and Scottish. I only wear two brands and actually only have 3 pairs of trousers anyway although even they change about manufacturing facilities.

Most of the other stuff I've got is Taiwanese as that's where most of the world's bikes come from. There's a move to China and Vietnam but only in the low end and many of the high end companies just don't like the quality coming out of China just now.

Quote:

Why?

I think globalisation is a real shame because companies end up shipping products all the way around the world using up stupid amounts of resources in doing so. Further, it means that local markets are colonised by foreign goods which are produced more cheaply than the locals can produce and those goods are often culturally bland and push out local culture.

See MacDonalds, Japanese cars, Bike manufacturers.

Quote:

Hmmm...I'll bet that most of what most westerners own has no real purpose. We could all get by without our gadgets, with fewer clothes in our closets, smaller homes, etc.

Yes, and I do although I'll draw the line at no Mac or Bicycles. :-)