Apple Lossless format coming to iTMS?

Comments

• Reply 41 of 93
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:

Originally posted by BRussell

You folks are being a little picky. In the scheme of things, 128 AAC certainly "rivals" CD quality. The term 'rival' is used to mean "close but not as good." The vast majority of people don't notice much difference or at least aren't bothered by it. I know a lot of people in music - I'm an amateur jazz musician - and I don't know a single one who gives a crap about the difference between 128 AAC and ALC or CD quality.

Sure, there's a difference, and anyone can hear it if they compare. But it's just not that big of a deal to most people, including, in my experience, people who have probably the most sophisticated knowledge and musical abilities of anyone in the world. The only people who seem to care are the self-professed "audiophiles."

Yup. Musicians are not the best people to ask about audio quality. They fill in what isn't there, because they are interested in the music and the performance.

Whenever I read an interview in Stereophile with a musician, composer, or conductor, they ask about their music system. The usual response is that their manager got them something, and it seems fine.

The best one was with, I think, Chet Atkins. His music system was a table radio that someone soldered a phono input to. He played his lp's through that (without phono equalization!!!). He also pluged his guitar into it. He thought it was a great "system"!
  • Reply 42 of 93
    Quote:

Originally posted by DeaPeaJay

Unless you have a really good HiFi system, I HIGHLY doubt you'd hear a difference in CD Quality and 128kbps AAC. I think that a lot of people THINK they hear a difference, but its all in their head. I certainly don't hear a difference, and I bet that most of you all that say you CAN hear a difference, if you were put to the test, you wouldn't be able to tell. Whoever said, "AAC is lousy" is totally ridiculous!!!!!!!