Apple Press Conference Sept 25

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 25
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Celemourn

After the debacle surrounding version 1.0 and 1.1, recall that Apple disbanded the entire development team.

1. Aperture could be better, but is already an amazing app (at least since 1.1). I absolutely LOVE it (granted, I'm just a hobby photographer, but still)

2. The development team was reshuffled, but not as drastically as TS made it appear.

I expect at least an update to version 1.5 as well as support for some cool new hardware.

Edit: oh, BTW, to my taste your posts are way better off without the "predicto" stuff, but maybe that's just me.....
  • Reply 22 of 25
    meelashmeelash Posts: 1,045member
    Quote:

<Dons Flame Retardant Merlin Robes and the pointy Predicto!!! Hat>

Predicto Sayeth that Aperture will not see an update. After the debacle surrounding version 1.0 and 1.1, recall that Apple disbanded the entire development team. Sixish months is likely too short a time to do the full rebuild that Aperture requires. Recall that it was said that the code was "a mess".

Rather, at Photokina, we will see the introduction of new display technology. Apple will combine their current Cinema Displays with either a dedicated or a BTO option of a Wacom Penabled digitizer. Making this a standard feature on their displays will revolutionize the way that photographers interact with their computers and their photos.

Apple's displays are currently priced at the top end of what the market will bear, yet LCD prices are dropping rapidly. By adding the relatively innexpensive digitizer option, Apple will be adding tremendous value to it's products and will be able to maintain high profit margins. This in addition to adding yet another distinctive feature to one of it's product lines.

Predicto hath SPOKEN!!!

<Dives for the bomb shelter!!>

iMac with a touch screen?
  • Reply 23 of 25
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by dutch pear