Latest Leopard build from Apple suggests much work ahead

15678911»

Comments

• Reply 201 of 213
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by melgross View Post

Dang! I took so long in getting to finish my reply to Brian that I never saw your post, as you sent it while I had to go away from my computer.

Yes! That's the way to do it. I couldn't remember offhand. Embarrassingly, I was going to ask my daughter when she comes home tonight. Now, happily, I won't have to!

I agree with your last two sentences as well. It's what I've been saying.

That's clear as mud you two.

You may as well give me directions by saying things like, "Drive on out a ways to where the old barn used to be and take a right. Go a ways more and that field that used to be an orchard will come up, take a left there.

The point being, I have zero programming experience. If I knew what you did, I'd already have a movie playing on my desktop and wouldn't have even discussed anything here and left all of you change-haters (said lovingly of course) to get upset about a "cycle" or two that got used when most of your CPU power isn't even being touched.

With Core Animation there ought to be a way to make it look flawless and not obviously animated. I've seen so-called animated desktops and they look like they were put together by three year olds. I'm talking about the desktop looking as good as a movie. The laptop already has the power, I just don't have the option to do it myself. Perhaps a tutorial is in order.
  • Reply 202 of 213
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Hiro View Post

You can already have fully animated desktop backgrounds. Anything that is written as a screensaver can also be made to run as the desktop. There are several small apps like Backlight that will automate launching the animated desktops without having to invoke the one terminal command that does the same. That's been around since 10.2!