Comments

• Reply 141 of 198
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SpinDrift View Post

But, but he started it.

I was gonna point that out, too
  • Reply 142 of 198
    lfe2211lfe2211 Posts: 507member
    I really really really didn't want to get into this fray but I'm forced to based on one of Mel's "citations". My apologies, but this is going to be a rather long post which will likely turn off most readers. I won't be offended if you click the back button right now on you browser. However, I can't present it any other way to make my point clearly. I guarantee if you stay with me, you'lll learn a few things

I am a scientist (Ph.D in 1977 from Cornell in Biochemistry). I have not yet received my April, 2007 issue of Discover so I can't tell how out of context and/or wrong the quotes he attributed to Dr. Seth Lloyd and Dr. Murray Gell-Mann are. To wit mel's quote:

Quote:
    Originally Posted by melgross View Post

In an article published for the April 2007 issue of Discover, Seth Lloyd, the MIT engineer, who developed the first quantum computer designs, and who has written for Scientific American, several books, etc said that

"I would bet that 99.8% of ideas put forth by scientists are wrong..."

Murray Gell-Mann quoted in the article "is fond of saying, "The job of a scientist is to generate wrong ideas as fast as possible."

Estimates are that as much as 30% of all scientific peer reviewed papers are wrong, and the fear is that the number may be higher.

(Much of what follows is readily available in Wiki)