Top secret features suspect in Apple's Leopard delay

Comments

• Reply 21 of 77
    donebyleedonebylee Posts: 521member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Hudson1 View Post

There has been suspicion that the "secret features" are hardware-related and any revelation of them will cause a product disclosure that Apple is holding very closely.

Could this be it?

I'm not a developer so someone else will have to it explore this, but could a hardware problem be behind the "bugginess" and "crashing" problems that have been widely cited?

Still, Occam's Razor suggests that it is as simple as Apple says it is. A resources problem.

And while I have no desire for an iPhone, I understand that Apple stands to make much more money from an iPhone or an iPod than they will from an OS.

Sad but true.
  • Reply 22 of 77
    dp123dp123 Posts: 17member
    I think Shaw Wu is a little too prone to go easy on Apple, but the theory seems credible.

Yes, I do fear that Jobs would say "Top Secret" features that would amount to little additional value, bullet-point features that were not significant. Moreover, I would say that Jobs presentation didn't put a major emphasis on this, but the press, the fans, the reaction did put extreme pressure for them to be substantial.

However, I have been wondering about this for months: if zero details have leaked in beta builds, what is Apple doing if they are significant?

It made sense that they had a separate branch of builds and they were relying solely on internal testing/bug fixing. Not only does this add additional strain on Apple since they are the sole "fixers" of these features, but it adds strain on reconciling the builds and potential bugs that arise when merging the feature sets.