Will Apple ever make this machine?

Comments

• Reply 161 of 362
    There is a group of professionals who don't need a dual Xeon workstation, and would prefer not to pay for it if we didn't have to. I do a couple of things that put me in this category - I am a landscape photographer, professional naturalist and educator at the University level, as well as a doctoral student in Environmental Studies. I work with very large still images on a professional basis (I made 500 16.7 megapixel images in a recent weekend, leading a University trip to Acadia National Park), but I'm not a professional video user (I do own a camcorder, but it's worth about 5% of what my still camera system costs). 3 GB of RAM is a pretty serious limit for large still images (mine open at 100 megabytes, and grow from there, as I add layers and interpolate up (with Genuine Fractals) to print at 16x24 - even without layers, my print-size files are 200 megs). I'm also increasingly worried about laptop cooling systems as I drive my computer hard...

I presently use a MacBook Pro 15" with an external 30" display and a load of external hard drives. I'm contemplating a Mac Pro (dual 2.66) somewhat unhappily instead of upgrading my laptop RAM from 2 gigs to 3 and adding yet another external drive. I'm not sure 3 gigs will be enough (Photoshop grabs every byte I have as soon as I start serious work right now), but I don't need dual Xeons or a 16 gig RAM capacity.

If only Apple would make a $1500 tower with a RAM limit in the 4-8 gig range, one fast Conroe (2.66 or2.93?) and decent capacity for internal storage, photographers would beat a path to their door... The features I don't like about the Mac Pro, apart from the price, are the extremely expensive RAM (it's literally twice as expensive as Precision 390 RAM) and the huge size - the thing is the size of a small pedestal server, which makes sense when you look at the hardware, because it IS a small pedestal server in almost every respect.