When will a MacBook Pro "feel" like a MacPro?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Hello,

I am a current owner of a Mac Pro 2 x 2.66ghz and would like to get the opinion of this board. I am a coder and I work with video and am designing a internal workflow app for a long time client. During the course of the day I jump between pathfinder, photoshop, xcode as well a half dozen other apps. In that same workflow I copy over 50 megs files on a regular basis and compile my app which is become larger and larger.

I had a dual g5 powermac and switched to the first macbook pro (intel). I found the macbook pro to be slightly sluggish (launching apps) and the mem. limit back then (2 gigs) was a problem (i now see they have a 4 gig mem limit but I have 6 gigs in my machine.)

I always found the macbook pro's hard drive (5400 never tried a 7200) to be slowish. (relative to my use) I also really disliked the bus speed which I THINK is the root of my "sluggish" feelings... (unless i am mistaken the G5 and the Mac Pro's busses demolish the current bus speeds of even a santa rosa macbook pro.)

So my question is, with Peryn coming up (faster bus, more then 4 gig?? mem limit) does anyone think that a Peryn machine will "feel" as fast as my current Mac Pro which I am really happy with?

I know there will be Mac Pro that comes out after that blows away the peryn but I am willing to stake the mac pro 2 x 2.66 as a base speed that will hold me for a couple of years if I can truly has a portable machine that results in very little compromise.

As you might has guessed I am trying to have one mac that can do both but after going thru a 15inch mac book pro intel and the 17" mac book pro intel, as well as maxing out the ram I feel that (understandably) notebooks are not for me but I am also hoping that perhaps once peryn arrives, there might be a portable that can feel as good (speed-wise) as my current mac pro.

Thoughts?

thank you.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 21