Court orders T-Mobile Germany to sell iPhone without contract

Comments

• Reply 81 of 131
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by dreyfus2 View Post

No need to refresh my memory - I have been there. Apple took the easy way out - and most people in the commission were realising it, but decided to give them some time to settle it. You can force the entire music industry to agree to 99 cents per song, but you cannot promote identical pricing across Europe? Big laughter. The pricing differences across Europe are below Apple's income from selling songs from the store. Apple is the reseller here and they have to do the job. The pricing from the record companies is not that much different - even in developing countries the price for a legal CD is consistently between 10 and 12 EUR. No need for all that jazz at all.

1. Clearly you don't know how the music business works. I work in the music business, so I know exactly how things run in it.

2. The idea of uniform pricing across the EU is great in theory, but as a business owner you know that in practice it doesn't work, due to a number of factors.

McDonalds sells burgers in every EU country, yet the prices are vastly different in each country: A cheeseburger in Germany is far more expensive that a cheeseburger in Portugal, even though it's the same cheeseburger. That's not McDonalds fault. Same situation with iTunes pricing.

Again, you're assuming that big bad Apple is the main reason why there is a SIM lock on the iPhone in Germany, which is IMO a lopsided view of the situation.

Quote: