Apple validates 13-inch LED backlight units ahead of ultra-portable

Comments

• Reply 61 of 108
    bjnybjny Posts: 191member
    I choose to believe that AmbientMatrix and foobula with their single posts are plants from Apple giving us the hint that it's multi-touch based.
  • Reply 62 of 108
    If Apple releases an ultraportable laptop, weight and thickness are what will make it "ultra" portable. A 13" screen would give it the same dimensions as a piece of paper or a magazine. Why on earth would it need to be smaller than that? Imagine an Apple Laptop that slides right into your briefcase or backback along with your papers, folders, and notebooks that is really thin and very light, but packs a lot of power, has a solid state hard drive and a lot of battery life. Yeah, I think Apple might sell a few of those

Macworld can't get here soon enough!
  • Reply 63 of 108
    My workaholic wife aside, I am a pro user and educational materials developer/writer. I have creative periods that come up suddenly and I want to be able to capitalize on them when they arise and do not want to carry a full-sized computer at all times "just in case"; for now, I have a Palm (I used to have a Clie, RIP). I also need some portable power for my daily work (presentations, classes, meetings). What I want to be able to do on an ultraportable:

- easily carried (pocket or in my camera bag with my camera)

- check and send email

- manage my schedule

- surf the Net

- view photos

- listen to music

- play a game or two

My Palm or even my cell phone is doing well so far...

- type the text for my next book quickly and easily

- draw sketches for my text (everything I do comes with lots of images)

- import photos from my camera, do some simple editing

- work on my presentation for a conference

- record audio for my presentation and perform basic editing on the audio

- work on my finances

- video chat

- present on a large screen TV or a projector or with the computer itself