Developers question why Apple keeps its iPhone 2.0 SDK under NDA

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 32
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by MacTel View Post

The NDAs are there because of the Android, Blackberry, Palm, Symbian, and Microsoft mobile OS platforms. Apple doesn't want their competitors using their R&D to better their products without some difficultly.

This is flawed thinking. Apple needs to open up to improve the developer experience. Microsoft has it right here: Developers Developers Developers!

That's absolutely right. Apple once again allows their people to paint them into a corner with excessive secrecy. Open, open, open!
  • Reply 22 of 32
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member
    Shocker, Dan defends Apple on their appalling attitudes.
  • Reply 23 of 32
    hutchohutcho Posts: 132member
    As an iPhone developer, I find this restriction incredible frustrating, but it is typical Apple closed off, "do what you're told" attitude. Objective C and it's unusual rewritten crazy syntax that is different from every other language doesn't help either.

It is completely compatible with C and C++ (a very good thing), why the hell did they just make the syntax that same! Even after working with it for a few months now, it still does my head in!
  • Reply 24 of 32
    brendonbrendon Posts: 642member
    I believe that MS is writing apps for the iPhone. Also any of these companies can and do have written programs for their phones and may think that some would sell well, so it is not impossible to think that they would have the SDK. Nokia et all, can apply as a team if they wish and if Apple allows them access to the SDK then the law is covered. What I don't understand is why Apple does not have an iPhone developer forum, like Google has with Maps development.

Apple may wish to have an atmosphere where the A students excel while the C students ( the ones that would rather not read ) struggle until they learn to read what is provided. My guess.

Quote: