Apple shares tumble on downgrades from investment banks

Comments

• Reply 101 of 146
    I get the feeling a lot of folks here had money in AAPL and.... nothing else?

3 years ago, AAPL was worth about 50 bucks a share - did anyone here really think Apple shares were realistically going to stay in the $180-200 range? I'm no expert, but I really thought that was pretty unbelievable.

Everyone here seems to think that the stock is undervalued, but I'm not so sure, and wouldn't be surprised to see it get down to the $75 range until either Apple releases some products that are more feasible to folks with drastically reduced petty cash (if lots of people lose out on their retirement/education savings, that'll really hit vanity electronics), or the economy turns around/gets sorted out.

I'd say the devaluation of the stock also has a little bit to do with the court case going on in Norway (supported by Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Holland, etc.) which could require iTunes/iTunes media to be compatible with non-iPod media players.

With the economy as bad as it is, and only going to get worse, Apple could be in rough shape, especially if it's bread and butter iPods start to slip in their market share...

Anyways, I hope none of you bought in over the past 5 months! If so, you'll probably have lost half your money by the end of the week, and it'll be a tough decision to wait and see if the stock can double in a reasonable time period to make it worth tying up your cash!

And to everyone who thinks this is a conspiracy : if you also think there's an ounce of truth to the X-Files, or that the 9/11 planes were actually missiles launched by the CIA, maybe it's time you cut back on your internets.
  • Reply 102 of 146
    teckstudteckstud Posts: 6,476member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Thomaspin View Post