Quote:
    Originally Posted by DimMok View Post

Big Device, Big Arms...Big FAILURE.

Bring it on Apple.....

Yeah- like WHEN????
  • Reply 82 of 86
    palegolaspalegolas Posts: 1,361member
    I'll say it again and again.

The one who takes e-books to the educational sector, universities, and introduce an infrastructure for renting and buying educational litterature will take a significant lead.
  • Reply 83 of 86
    I bought Kindle 2 after trying out the Kindle app on the iPhone. I'm a graduate student in Japan and needed a textbook. Who had it? Amazon, but so did the Kindle store. It was a no-brainer purchase.

No way am I going back to the iPhone app if I have the Kindle 2 at the same time. If not for the more appropriate Kindle screen, then it's due to the iPhone 3G's battery life. I'd delete the app altogether, but I live in Japan where I can't get content wirelessly, so I keep the app as a backup.

Don't think I'd need a bigger version for newspapers. The iPhone actually taught me to tolerate with constant scrolling or dealing with segmented webpages. The Kindle 2 is fine as it is.

It's a little ironic that Apple itself had driven me to buy a Kindle because they're evidently against netbooks. Even then, lying in my bed or sitting on the subway, and reading the 100 pages I have to read for just one class on a netbook is simply lame, and in Japan, I can live without having another book take up my limited space. That's what the Kindle does for me. It lets me read a book or text material in a manner that allows it to resemble a book. I also appreciate Amazon's file conversion service, so I can read through the interview I just transcribed and not have to lug a computer around or waste precious iPhone battery.