Apple begins stress testing iPhone 3.0 push notifications

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 30
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Sometimes, for the first generation, they just have to get it working well enough. Then they can get the GUI down pat. I wouldn't expect it to be perfect at first.
  • Reply 22 of 30
    pmzpmz Posts: 3,433member
    Are there any special requirements for getting this code? I'm a paid developer, I'm using Beta 5 SDK/OS.

Never got this e-mail/promo code? Anyone else?
  • Reply 23 of 30
    fulldecentfulldecent Posts: 108member
    Easy. Less verbose notification when the Silent switch is on.
  • Reply 24 of 30
    solipsismsolipsism Posts: 25,726member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by pmz View Post

Are there any special requirements for getting this code? I'm a paid developer, I'm using Beta 5 SDK/OS.

Never got this e-mail/promo code? Anyone else?

Luck of the draw. So far I’ve only received one notification from AP News.

It also looks like the per-app settings will be in place from the start.

(click each photo for full size)
  • Reply 25 of 30
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by str1f3 View Post

I don't think it's a good idea. If the news app is so worthless, then why bother to have a notification in the first place. You have to sift through eleven pages of apps just to see the badge above the icon.

As for IM's, there will be constant stream of popups on the screen and I can see that getting annoying very quickly especially when you may be doing something more important. I can also see sound alerts getting annoying when listening to music. You could very easily be in a situation when you can have more than 3 apps running notifications. Maybe 5 or 6. I can see a situation like this being a real headache.