X-MAS Hardware. iPod vs. Zune

Comments

• Reply 21 of 44
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mwswami

Microsoft will probably call it a roaring success (beyond their wildest imagination) if Zune is able to grab 10% of the sales of iPods this quarter. In reality, they may actually get up to 10% of the iPod Video sales, but as others have pointed out, the iPod Shuffle and the Nano will be the bulk of the iPods sold this quarter and Microsoft has no answer to these offerings.

I predict .4M for Zune vs 18-20M for the complete iPod line for the quarter.

I started playing around with some numbers to get a sense of what the iPod sales for the quarter might look like.

This is the break down that makes the most sense to me:
    Shuffle ($79) --> 30% of Total Units Sold

Nano 2GB ($149) --> 15%

Nano 4 GB ($199) --> 30%

Nano 8 GB ($249) --> 5%

Video 30GB ($249) -->15%

Video 80GB ($349) --> 5%
    It's just pure guessing on my part based on product features, pricing, historical data, rumors, personal likes/dislikes, etc ... What do you think?
  • Reply 22 of 44
    I think that the lower end models will take more than that. I would say that the Shuffle will take closer to 35% and the 2GB nano closer to 20%. The Shuffle is really popular right now. A lot of the freshman in my Spanish class won't stop talking about it.
  • Reply 23 of 44
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by maimezvous

I think that the lower end models will take more than that. I would say that the Shuffle will take closer to 35% and the 2GB nano closer to 20%. The Shuffle is really popular right now. A lot of the freshman in my Spanish class won't stop talking about it.

I agree and initially I had a larger percentage assigned to the Shuffle but I believe that, unless the sales numbers are tracking to projections, Apple will throttle it's supply a bit towards the end of the quarter to boost the other models.