Verizon FiOS

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi All,

Well the day has arrived! I have started getting Verizon FiOS ads in my mailbox. I am seriously considering kicking Comcast to the curb, but I'm uneasy about it. Looks like pricing will be a bit cheaper.

I'm a sap for new tech, but that's not really it on this one. My beefs with Comcast are:

Price: I pay $140 a month for HD/DVR/Digital/Internet and Phone. No premium channels.

DVR: While they recently upgraded the UI and features a bit, it blows. It constantly freezes for a few seconds (like up to 10) when I initiate an action, like deleting. Or sometimes, it just freezes in the channel guide or what not. It's like the box is overheating (no way, not with how it's ventilated in my unit). I've had the same problem with at least three other HD-DVRs.

HD: I have what...10 channels in HD? WTF is that? This is 2007.

Reliability: I returned my first box for a noisey drive a few years ago. Then I got another one, and now that I've moved I have another. This one is starting to just stop working every once in a while. The TV keeps saying "HDMI 1" as if it's being fed a new signal every few hours, or as if I changed the input when I did not.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone has experience (first or second/third hand) that they could share with FiOS. I'm in an aparment, so I wonder if that will be an issue too. Thoughts?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,425member
    Well I'm currently renting out the lower half of a house from a friend and sharing a very slow DSL connection. I told her that she should get FIOS as it's available in Bothell WA where I now live.

I've seen plenty of good reviews...typically the service works as planned. I didn't know they would install in multi unit dwellings as I've read that Verizon yanks the copper in some cases when installing.

I think you'll enjoy it. Which I could be talking from experience.
  • Reply 2 of 9