Whats better... Reason 3.0 or Logic 7?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I'm an amateur musician. Been using Reason 2.0 since 2003 on a PowerbookG4. I am upgrading to a new iMac 24 2.4 and I would like to upgrade my production software as well.

I love Reason, but 3.0 has some major changes and will force me to learn some new things. I figure since i need to learn anyway, maybe i'll get Logic Pro instead. I have heard good things about logic pro, like but I have also heard about some negatives:

1) Logic Pro doesn't do well for samples

2) Learning curve is too steep compared to Reason, and basic tasks can bee very difficult

3) Macworld said its impossible to constrain audio to a tempo, which is not good since i spend alot of time manipulating my samples (but does Apple Loops fix this?)

Questions:
  • Is Logic due for a revision soon?

• Does anyone use the network-distributed processing feature? If so, is it user-friendly?

• Can anyone make some clear distinctions between Reason and Logic in terms of ease of use?

• Can anyone share their honest opinion of Logic 7?

Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bg_nyc View Post

I'm an amateur musician. Been using Reason 2.0 since 2003 on a PowerbookG4. I am upgrading to a new iMac 24 2.4 and I would like to upgrade my production software as well.

I love Reason, but 3.0 has some major changes and will force me to learn some new things. I figure since i need to learn anyway, maybe i'll get Logic Pro instead. I have heard good things about logic pro, like but I have also heard about some negatives:

1) Logic Pro doesn't do well for samples

2) Learning curve is too steep compared to Reason, and basic tasks can bee very difficult

3) Macworld said its impossible to constrain audio to a tempo, which is not good since i spend alot of time manipulating my samples (but does Apple Loops fix this?)

Questions:
    • Is Logic due for a revision soon?