Injured While Abroad...Advice?

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
My mother called me last night to tell me that my cousin, while vacationing in Florence, fell down a flight of stairs, breaking his ankle, arm, and several vertebrae. They're working with the US consulate for translation services and to arrange travel back, but they're having difficulty/being frustrated by how all of it is going. The hospital won't release him to an airline unless they are guaranteed that he will be on his back for the entire trip, which means three seats on a trans-atlantic flight (oof).

Aside from working with the consulate and maybe directly with the airline, is there anything y'all recommend they do?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    I have no personal experience getting seriously injured abroad, just violently ill... sorry to hear about your cousin. Hope he gets the care he needs.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    Check also for charter flights. He might be able to find a group that takes pity on him.
  • Reply 3 of 6
    aslan^aslan^ Posts: 599member
    Why does he want to go back to the states?

Is there anything wrong with receiving treatment in Florence?
  • Reply 4 of 6
    jubelumjubelum Posts: 4,490member
    I broke my leg in a foreign country about seven years ago... I ended up getting some attention from my congressman, and made quite a bit of noise with the American consulate. Even with that I ended up with some complicated promissory note to a Czech doctor's investment trust. It just continued to get stranger as things went on.

Quite candidly, I'd tell you that international systems of immigration/medical payment sometimes do well to run with the mundane, much less with an American in a medical emergency and it can be a challenge satisfying all the things that lead to a smooth outcome. I know for a fact, looking back, that two separate parties took advantage of the language barrier and the "home turf" flexibility in interpreting the "law."