Apple's X11: what software can we now use?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Being a Mac guy I'm kind of new to all this UNIX stuff. What new doors does X11 open to us? What cool stuff can I run now that I couldn't?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    OpenOffice...
  • Reply 2 of 10
    bartobarto Posts: 2,246member
    Everything we could run before in XDarwin - icky looking and slow - we can run now in OSX X11 (try saying that 3 times fast) - aqua looking and fast.

All unixie applications with a GUI will now work. Most of it is simply "cool" stuff, for which you can get Mac OS X equivilents. However, for some stuff like OpenOffice, XChat (irc client), developer tools and lots of hard-core appications, the time won't have to be taken to port the interface to run on X.

Barto
  • Reply 3 of 10
    [quote]Originally posted by Aquatic:

<strong>Being a Mac guy I'm kind of new to all this UNIX stuff. What new doors does X11 open to us? What cool stuff can I run now that I couldn't?</strong><hr></blockquote>

the Gimp = Free Photoshop
  • Reply 4 of 10
    jlljll Posts: 2,713member
    [quote]Originally posted by tryggvi:

<strong>

the Gimp = Free Photoshop</strong><hr></blockquote>

Not by a mile.
  • Reply 5 of 10
    aquaticaquatic Posts: 5,602member
    Plus I bought Elements 2.0 and it's user-friendly. What can GIMP do that PhotoShop/Elements can't? And I might ask the same question of OpenOffice, since I have Office X.

SO what's everyone here using Apple's shiny new X11 system for these days?

It seems to me most open-source stuff is a complicated, slow, buggy version of commercial software that people use for moral reasons, not practical ones (besides price.) I'm anti-M$ of course, but not the point of memorizing obscure commands, weird app quirks, etc.