Amazon to acquire Audible for $300 million

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 27
    so i take it that itunes will not be able to sell the books, well this is no biggie, no one really buys off itunes, i have an audible subscription, and not allowing audio books in the future to play off this would be foolish, i think itunes is gonna sink, amazon may come out on top
  • Reply 22 of 27
    areseearesee Posts: 776member
    For those that are worried about iPod compatibility:

1. Books already in your library will probably continue to function just as they have always have.

2. The question is if Apple will renew the FairPlay license with Amazon. This will depend on if Apple sees Amazon as a competitor or a supplier. If Apple sees Amazon as a supplier they may surprise us and let Amazon continue with the Audible license.

3. Amazon may sell these audiobooks without DRM. I don't think this is likely as book publishers make the RIAA look like Pirate Bay supporters. But Amazon already sells mp3s and ebooks without DRM.
  • Reply 23 of 27
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by djames42 View Post

I'd say those reports were fairly accurate. I suspect that Amazon will discontinue their (exclusive) relationship with Apple, but I don't see that as any big loss. I think that anyone who regularly listens to audiobooks would be foolish to pay full-price through the iTMS, when they can be had far cheaper via Audible's subscription service. Even if one goes through more than the one or two per month they receive via subscription, the discount members get for purchases through Audible can be significant as well.