I'm New, and need advice.

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Im new here, I just wanted to introduce myself.

I am a Freelance Graphic Designer running a 2005 IMac G5 Desktop, which is an awsome computer!

However the OS and applications inside of it are basically out of date, and I am seeking advice for upgrading the inner workings of it.

OS X 10.3.9

Adobe CS

QuarkXPress 6.0

I am looking to do the following to it:

Upgrade to: OS Leopard ($129.00)

iLife '08 ($ 79.00) - Even though I am a graphic designer, I specialize in Print Only; I need to start building my online portfolio

Extensis Suitcase - I dont even have this right now

Adobe CS3 - Upgrade only!

QuarkXPress - Upgrade only!

What do you think of this?

Is there any "words of wisdom" that this forum might be able to offer, as I try to get this done?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    pbpb Posts: 4,255member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Angel203 View Post

I am looking to do the following to it:

Upgrade to: OS Leopard ($129.00)

iLife '08 ($ 79.00) - Even though I am a graphic designer, I specialize in Print Only; I need to start building my online portfolio

Extensis Suitcase - I dont even have this right now

Adobe CS3 - Upgrade only!

QuarkXPress - Upgrade only!

What do you think of this?

Is there any "words of wisdom" that this forum might be able to offer, as I try to get this done?

On the graphics applications package I cannot comment and others here could advise you better, but Leopard is an obvious necessary update. 10.3.9 will limit your software choice today and your iMac is perfectly capable to run fluidly the new OS. Furthermore, Leopard will push your iMac in a higher level of functionality with all the extra features.

Although I would also recommend iLife, I hear complains about the new iMovie, so I don't know. It depends on your needs.
  • Reply 2 of 5
    areseearesee Posts: 776member