Why is the contrast Ratio so low on Cinema displays?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Can someone answer this for me please. I've never owned a cinema display just so you all know.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2
    e1618978e1618978 Posts: 6,075member
    I'm not an expert, but from previous threads - Apple uses the higher quality S-IPS panels that have lower contrast ratio, but are better in every other way. This was written when the contrast ratio of IPS panels was 200:1, now they are 1000:1, the movie playback and black level problems are probably pretty hard to notice (I don't know, I have a cheap Dell monitor...):

http://www.experts-exchange.com/Hard..._23309079.html

"The IPS technology has always been better than TN+Film in terms of color reproduction and viewing angles. In fact, S-IPS matrices leave no chance to other LCD technologies in the color-reproduction quality. They have soft and pleasant colors, which are natural and close to high-quality CRT monitors. Thats why nearly all LCD monitors for professional work with color are based on S-IPS matrices, starting from relatively inexpensive to hi-end models of the Eizo ColorEdge series with integrated tools for custom hardware color-calibration.

The viewing angles are a treat after TN matrices: you cant notice any distortions of the image, sitting in front of an IPS matrix. Theres only one specific defect when youre looking at the screen from a side, black color acquires a characteristic violet hue (by the way, this defect allows telling an IPS matrix from any other), but the manufacturers are improving on this. In most cases, this is an insignificant defect anyway. Viewing angles are wider than PVA and MVA even and are signified by their listed specs commonly of 178/178 instead of 176/176. Only a guide on paper, but in reality, viewing angles are better on S-IPS based screens.