Apple extends old MacBook Pro graphics warranty to three years

Comments

• Reply 21 of 44
    pg4gpg4g Posts: 383member
    I haven't noticed any change to battery times, actually.
  • Reply 22 of 44
    frankiefrankie Posts: 381member
    So if I have one but nothing has happened so far, what should I do?

Should I be preventative and bring it in now?

What do they use to replace it with? Is it just the same card?

Thanks for any info!
  • Reply 23 of 44
    No Frankie, don't take it in. They haven't recalled it, and its debatable if they should or not. Still, Apple will say its still working, so warranty doesn't apply.

If you have any issues, take it to an Apple Authorized technician. They will replace the Mac's logic board, which is basically everything and the kitchen sink in your computer. That includes the CPU, GPU, and everything else apart from RAM, Hard Drive, Superdrive, Screen, keyboard and trackpad.

TBH, as an Apple Authorized Tech myself, I love doing it lol. MacBook Pro 17" are a dream to pull apart lol. Too bad I wasn't authorized when it happened to me.
  • Reply 24 of 44
    bobabouibobaboui Posts: 11member
    [/LEFT]
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by PG4G View Post

There is no method to check. If you have a NVIDIA 8600 GT in your MacBook Pro, you could be affected.

Actually, there is a test but available only to Apple authorized service providers. Though my MacBook Pro (15-inch 2.4/2.2GHz) with 2 years left in my Applecare warranty does not show any symptoms, it was tested with this app, it passed so no repair needed.

Quote:

TBH, as an Apple Authorized Tech myself, I love doing it lol. MacBook Pro 17" are a dream to pull apart lol. Too bad I wasn't authorized when it happened to me.

Since you're Apple tech, you should have access to the app at service source. I'm not an Apple tech but know someone who is.
  • Reply 25 of 44
    dronkertdronkert Posts: 4member