Nervous About Installing SL

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I just ordered Snow Leopard and will receive it tomorrow, but am really hesitant about installing it yet.I have a new 24" iMac 2.66 with 2 LaCie D2 1TB ext HD's daisy chained to my FW800. One is partitioned for TM...with a small partition on it for a SuperDuper Back-up of my int HD as well...The other drive is just for data. I use a lot of third party programs, and I'm really uptight about losing them. I'm not really sure how to go about booting up from the SuperDuper backup. I'm not a newbie, but am also hardly a genius either. Just a dopey drummer...grin..Any thoughts would be appreciated...Thanks all...I'm new here and this is a really awesome place to learn!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by zutty View Post

I just ordered Snow Leopard and will receive it tomorrow, but am really hesitant about installing it yet.I have a new 24" iMac 2.66 with 2 LaCie D2 1TB ext HD's daisy chained to my FW800. One is partitioned for TM...with a small partition on it for a SuperDuper Back-up of my int HD as well...The other drive is just for data. I use a lot of third party programs, and I'm really uptight about losing them. I'm not really sure how to go about booting up from the SuperDuper backup. I'm not a newbie, but am also hardly a genius either. Just a dopey drummer...grin..Any thoughts would be appreciated...Thanks all...I'm new here and this is a really awesome place to learn!

If the backup drive is connected to the computer via Firewire, then you can hold down the Option key when starting up and it will give you the option of booting up from your int HD or from your backup drive (whatever you decided to call it). If you have Boot Camp, it's the same premise.

I would try booting up from the back up before een unwrapping the box for SL. I did this when going from Tiger to Snow Leopard and the upgrade went just fine.