A little help with remote control...

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Let me start by saying I have been searching the forums for a while this morning. I have found some things, but not exactly what I'm looking for. Now for the questions...

I converted my mother-in-law to a iMac about 4 months ago, and my parents just last week. Now, my mother-in-law is a bit more computer savvy than my parents so she is doing pretty good. I would however like to setup both of these systems so I can connect from home to walk them thru issues, install software, troubleshoot, etc. I know that there is some remote desktop stuff built into Mac OS X. I'm a Unix admin professionally, but I'm still pretty light on Mac specifics. I had once stumbled across a step by step process on setting up something like this. Anyone know where I can find such a beast?

I know that iChat offers screen sharing, but in what I've found so far I'm not sure if it allows true remote control or if I'm just along for the ride? Even assuming that it does indeed offer complete remote control, I'm hoping for a solution that will allow me access with needing someone on the other end to accept a connection. The connection is DSL on both ends. At work I use VNC for connecting to a few Winblows boxes and SSH for all of my Unix admin stuff. In Unix speak I'm wanting the desktop tunneled over and SSH-like connection.

Thanks in advance for any help here.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by svnipp View Post

Let me start by saying I have been searching the forums for a while this morning. I have found some things, but not exactly what I'm looking for. Now for the questions...