How to make my self-published book ready for a e-book readers

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am a self published author and I want to have my book ready for the new touch screen tablet.

How do I get the book ready for it and what program do I use and where do I get it listed to be sold for this?

How is my work protected and what do I do make to make sure the e-book is only on the person computer/touch screen who buys it?

I use rapid weaver web design program for my web site (peafowl. com ) and I want to also sell it there as well...what steps do I have to do to make this all happen?

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by dmfett View Post

I am a self published author and I want to have my book ready for the new touch screen tablet.

How do I get the book ready for it and what program do I use and where do I get it listed to be sold for this…

What format is required for the iSlate/iTablet is a puzzle until it is launched.

Quote:

How is my work protected

It is protected by your copyright. But YOU will have to prove that copyright is yours in a court of law.

Quote:

and what do I do make to make sure the e-book is only on the person computer/touch screen who buys it?

You would need to apply a DRM scheme, which would also make your book(s) instantly unpopular and a target for hackers.

Quote:

I use rapid weaver web design program for my web site (peafowl. com ) and I want to also sell it there as well...what steps do I have to do to make this all happen?

Probably many steps, but the first I would take is formatting my book as a protected PDF.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    areseearesee Posts: 776member
    I would suggest going to a professional writes site like http://authorsguild.org/ instead of here for the answers you need.

BTW, I have no idea if this organization is any good or not. They came up in the first page of a Google search.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    bbwibbwi Posts: 812member