Apple begins accepting iPad apps on the App Store

Comments

• Reply 41 of 76
    irnchrizirnchriz Posts: 1,617member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by wobegon View Post

I'm not a developer nor do I plan to be.

Before the App Store opened, any developer could test their iPhone apps on an iPhone. Sure, it wasn't the iPhone 3G but it was hardware that gave them a good idea of how their app would feel.

Obviously Apple can't send every developer an iPad or even do one of those tours where they go around the country letting developers try out the iPad. Totally understandable.

An alternative would be to delay iPad app approvals a week or so. This would limit the selection of day one apps to those that ship on the iPad but it would also mean the apps released—at least some of them—would be tested in more than just the simulator.

This likely won't be an issue a month after launch but in the first few weeks, it could taint users' opinions of iPad apps. Hopefully Apple's app reviewers will test these apps on the iPad.

Fortunately, third party apps aren't as important for the iPad as they are on the iPhone/iPod touch because many of the most popular iPhone apps are those that optimize web content for its small 3.5" screen. The iPad's much larger 9.7" screen means those apps aren't as necessary anymore because you can browse the Web without constant zooming in/panning/zooming out.

I predict the big system seller for the iPad will be its web browser. It was for me.

All of the developers use the SDK. It has a device simulator within it. It puts a full size ipad on your display (if you have a big enough screen) on which you run and fully interact with your application. Yes, having physical devices to beta test on makes things easier but until then the simulator does a good job.

I am buying an ipad on the strength of experience using the ipad in the simulator alone.
  • Reply 42 of 76
    irelandireland Posts: 17,799member
    Quote: