Apple's prohibition of Flash-built apps in iPhone 4.0 related to multitasking

Comments

• Reply 21 of 172
    glockpopglockpop Posts: 69member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Booga View Post

Speaking as a developer, I'd like to say that I suspect this AI entire article is almost entirely false. If there was a technical limitation Apple could simply state that limitation, not ban all similar technology outright. Games made with Unity3D, business Java apps compiled with gcj, etc., operate at a low level just like native apps.

It's a business decision, not a technical one.

So if you "suspect it is false," what's your explanation as to why Apple didn't add the restriction to the existing SDK and churn it out today? If disrupting Adobe was just a business goal, why attach it to iPhone 4.0 and delay things until June?

Or are you just a troll? Perhaps as a "developer," you can elucidate your position and explain something, rather than just making blanket, and irrelevant comments. It appears to have nothing to do with the "low level" at which apps supposedly operate, considering that apps all run in a fairly high level sandbox. Or do you "suspect," as a "developer" that iPhone apps run on the bare metal?
  • Reply 22 of 172
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ihxo View Post

because then your process will be blocking other process if the iPhone OS can't properly put your process to sleep.

I'm a developer and this is not entirely true. If the OS can't put your process to sleep properly only your process gets harmed. Once it gets awaken its processing could have been jeopardized. There could be logic problems with other processes if your process shares resources with them but that is an issue with the logic, algorithm in your program and not with the process per se or the way it was coded with whichever tools.

Apple will have to provide better (technical) reasons than the ones already presented. So far it seems to be solely a business decision.
  • Reply 23 of 172