Inside iPhone 4: FaceTime video calling

Comments

• Reply 41 of 94
    richysrichys Posts: 160member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jodyfanning View Post

Of course there is the minor matter that every other 3g phone on the planet already does video calling. It is another standard part of the 3GPP specs that Apple fails to implement.

It's worth considering how video calling via UMTS works before panning Apple. I also think it's worth including some of these details in the main article to (possibly) explain why Apple hasn't chosen to implement the UMTS 'standard' for video calling.

First, a little background. Back in 2003 I worked as an architect for one of the large UK network operators. At this time, the initial roll out of UMTS had been completed, and some 3G handsets were coming on to the market. One of my projects was to assure the solution for provisioning and delivering video calling. I have since left that industry, and it's entirely possible that video calling has advanced since then. Having said that, seeing standard UMTS video calling, I doubt it.

Firstly, current IP networks just do not support video calling very well. Unlike streaming audio or video that can be buffered on the client side, voice calling cannot -- you'd end up with the classic 'satellite delay' issue. See Clive James circa late 80s early 90s for reference! Secondly, you really need a synchronous connection -- the same amount of video is going in both directions, uplink and downlink. Most DSL and high speed packet access wireless networks are asynchronous (with a much faster downlink than uplink). So, taking both these into account, the wireless industry took the seemingly unusual step of deciding to deliver UMTS video calling over a synchronous circuit switched data (CSD) network.