Jony Ive

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Noob here. Apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong forum. Let me start off by saying I am a massive Jony Ive fan and hope he never leaves Apple or has his creativity stifled by Cook or anyone else.

Back in October when Apple announced stock grants for most of its executives Jony was missing from the list. According to Bloomberg: "because Ive isn?t classified as an executive officer by Apple under Securities and Exchange Commission rules, the company can keep his compensation private."

Is there a reason Ive is the only SVP not classified as an 'executive officer'? *In Walter Isaacson's book Steve is quoted as saying that he set it up so Jony has more operational power than anyone else at Apple except him. So I have to believe he's being compensated very well but I find it curious that he's treated differently than the other SVP's. Any ideas why that might be?

I know that Jony is not the showman that Phil Schiller or Scott Forstall are, but I'd love to see him more involved in Apple's keynotes. I think he's wickedly intelligent and he knows how to describe Apple's products in a very seductive way. Perhaps he prefers stay out of the limelight and requests not to speak? It's a shame because when I have heard him speak he comes across as genuine and humble whereas someone like Forstall comes across as more fake, almost as though he's trying to be a mini Steve. Especially with the way he dresses just like Steve did. Anyone else get that impression?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,326moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Rogifan View Post

I know that Jony is not the showman that Phil Schiller or Scott Forstall are, but I'd love to see him more involved in Apple's keynotes. I think he's wickedly intelligent and he knows how to describe Apple's products in a very seductive way.