Reinstalling Snow Leopard

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014

This is a bit embarrassing as I've been using OS X for ten years.  My present iMac / Snow Leopard is getting a little flaky.  The worst culprit is that highlighting gets anchored to one spot and enlarges as I move the cursor.  That means that I have a problem moving on to another item.  I usually have to reboot to shake the anchor loose. 

Anyway, I want to redo Snow Leopard OS, but keep everything else.  You might think that would be a simple task for a ten year veteran; however, I can't recall how I did that in the past installing newer OS's.  You could call it having a senior moment which I've been having more and more often lately. I'm well into my octogenarian decade.

I'd like advice as I'm concerned that I might screw up something and lose content. I back up everything internally and externally; however, recently, I tried to recover something from Time Machine and that was a fiasco.  Even though the item had been backed up numerous times, It wasn't on Time Machine when I looked for it.  I could see the file, but it was empty. Scary~!!!  It was all my financial ID's and pass codes on an app called KeePass.  Gone.

I want to avoid losing data, so I'm asking for advice.for redoing just the OS.

I'll probably buy and install Mountain Lion when it's out, so I'll have the same questions then.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    pbpb Posts: 4,255member